A Very Forgettable Day

A few years ago I developed a bump on my head. I went to the doctor and he explained that sometimes hair follicles get infected and cause a bump, or something like that. He gave me antibiotics and it went away. It came back in the same spot about two years ago, it never caused a problem so I never went to the doctor. However, after riding 10 hours last week, my helmet irritated it and caused it to become very swollen. It hurt so much that I couldn’t touch that side of my head. I had no choice but to go to the doctor. I had to wait a few days for the swelling to go down, but today I was finally able to ride again! The doctor had told me to be careful about going out in the sun, because it could cause me to get a rash while taking antibiotics. I knew it wouldn’t be a problem today because it was overcast and freezing!

I decided to ride Jolly again today. So BT got on a horse named Freckles and we went for a nice long hack. My head was still very swollen and my helmet was putting a lot of pressure on my lump. I remember going for a hack, but I honestly can’t remember anything specific that happened during the ride. I do recall the fact that I was freezing, as in I was literally shaking while we rode. After our hack I tapped out. I was too cold to go on, and when I took my helmet off I was so dizzy and lightheaded I thought I was gonna pass out or throw up.

My trainer still never texted me back. I still haven’t been gotten to take another lesson, its been almost a month since my last lesson. I’ve decided to stop trying to contact the guy anymore. Clearly there’s no place for me at their barn. I love riding BT’s ponies, but I really want to take lessons. I think it’s important to keep learning, no matter how good you get. Its hard to find hunter/jumper barns around here that have lessons horses though. That’s my main issue. But, we’ll see what happens next!

Leave a Reply

